NDIS for service providers

What do service providers need to do?

Service providers can choose to be registered with the NDIS or not. Registered service providers can connect to a much wider range of participants and can demonstrate they have met the specific quality and safeguards requirements as part of their marketing to potential participants.

Resources to support NDIS registered providers transition to the NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission

From 1 December 2020, all NDIS registered providers in Western Australia (WA) will transition to the National Disability Insurance Scheme Quality and Safeguards Commission (NDIS Commission). This will require all NDIS registered service providers who currently undertake accreditation against the National Standards for Mental Health Services (NSMHS) to prepare for certification or verification against the NDIS Practice Standards.

The Mental Health Commission have funded Quality Innovation Performance Consulting to develop a suite of fact sheets which can be accessed by all mental health service providers to support them in their preparation for certification or verification against the NDIS Practice Standards – see below.

Fact Sheet A - Psychosocial Support Service Delivery

Fact Sheet B - Policies and Procedures

Fact Sheet C - Training Requirements for NDIS and NSMHS

Fact Sheet D - Consumer and Carer Engagement

Fact Sheet E - Business Management

Fact Sheet F - Safety and Quality Systems

Fact Sheet G - Diversity and Cultural Safety

Fact Sheet H - Service Agreement (between provider and participant)

Fact Sheet I - Positive Behaviour Support and Restrictive Practices

More information for service providers can be found at the NDIS website.

The Western Australian Association for Mental Health (WAAMH) also has information on NDIS updates.

NDIS access process explained (specific to psychosocial disability)

Flinders University, with funding from the Commonwealth Department of Health and Department of Social Services have developed a wide range of on-line resources to support clinicians and service providers in their understanding of the NDIS access process for people with psychosocial disability. These resources can be found at tspforall.com.au

Flinders University, in partnership with the Mental Health Commission have developed a one-page fact sheet which outlines the key points of the NDIS access process for people with psychosocial disability. This fact sheet also provides links to the associated NDIS resources. 

What other services are there for people not eligible for the NDIS?

Continuity of Supports Program (CoSP)

The Commonwealth government is responsible for funding aged care services (except where otherwise agreed) and primary health care for older people. The CoSP has been developed to make sure that older people with disability currently receiving state managed specialist disability services, who are not eligible for the NDIS, receive ongoing support.

CoSP eligibility includes people with psychosocial disability who are:

  • Aged 65 years and over OR 50 years and over for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, at the time the CoSP  commences implementation in their region (1 July 2020 for existing clients of Commission funded programs); and
  • An existing client of a Commission funded program at 1 July 2020 (that is recognised by the Commonwealth government and currently receiving services or has received a service in the last 12 months).

The Commission has identified that 61 individuals receiving supports through Commission funded programs met this criteria and from 1 July 2020, these individuals will be funded through the Commonwealth CoSP. Further information can be found on the Commonwealth CoSP website and Aged Care website.

National Psychosocial Support Measure

The Commonwealth Government has committed $80 million over four years for the National Psychosocial Support (NPS) measure.

The purpose of the NPS measure is to support people with severe mental illness and associated functional impairment who are not more appropriately supported through the NDIS.

The Commonwealth component of the NPS measure will be implemented via the Primary Health Networks (WA Primary Health Alliance [WAPHA]). The Commission is working in partnership with WAPHA who is planning and commissioning these services with commencement from 1 July 2019.

The Commission’s contribution to the NPS measure includes a wide range of services commissioned from various service providers including:

  • Community mental health step up/step down services;
  • Personalised Supports;
  • Respite Services;
  • Family and Carer Supports;
  • Group Support Activities;
  • Individual Advocacy;
  • Mutual Support and Self Help;
  • Education, Employment and Training; and
  • Accommodation Support Services

This website uses cookies and third-party services.