Independent bodies

Mental Health Advocacy Service

The Mental Health Advocacy Service (MHAS) is established under the Mental Health Act 2014 to provide advocacy support to people specified in the Act, including involuntary patients and residents of private psychiatric hostels. The MHAS replaced the Council of Official Visitors on 30 November 2015.

The MHAS is a free service that is independent from hospitals and mental health services. Mental health advocates can help you understand your legal rights, express your wishes, and uphold your rights. For further information, visit the MHAS website.

Mental Health Tribunal

The Mental Health Tribunal is an independent body established under the Mental Health Act 2014. The Tribunal replaced the Mental Health Review Board on 30 November 2015.

The Tribunal’s role is to safeguard the rights of people with mental illness who are involuntary patients, either in hospital on an inpatient treatment order, or on a community treatment order. Key functions include reviewing involuntary treatment orders to decide whether a person still needs to be an involuntary patient, approving provision of certain kinds of treatments, and reviewing other decisions affecting rights. For further information visit the Mental Health Tribunal’s website.

Office of the Chief Psychiatrist

The Chief Psychiatrist is an independent statutory officer who holds powers and duties as prescribed by the Mental Health Act 2014. The powers invested in the Chief Psychiatrist impose a governance responsibility over any Mental Health Service and other specified agencies that seek to influence the delivery of mental health treatment and care to the Western Australian Community. For more information visit the Office of the Chief Psychiatrist's website.

This website uses cookies and third-party services.